A settling in kind of Sunday

After having one of the most peaceful sleeps of my life last night thanks to no longer having to make 2 a.m. 911 calls (yep, that was one of the things I had blocked out about the drug house when I was writing yesterday), I woke up recharged and ready to settle in at my new apartment. I haven’t really taken a lot of time off work since starting, mostly because we’re a new paper so there’s a lot to do, and also simply because of the nature of the job. It’s called the news, not the olds, right? Gotta stay on top of things.

But after yesterday’s big move, I wanted to spend today settling in and looking ahead to the upcoming week. Doing the kinds of things I haven’t had a lot of time or mental energy to do in the last month. I prepped healthy lunches and snacks for the week, all while listening to one of my favourite podcasts – Q with Jian Ghomeshi – and reveling in the fact that I can play music, podcasts, etc. now without worrying about my neighbour downstairs waking up during the day and overhearing everything! It’s wonderful!

I finished up my laundry and made up my bed, and I’m lamely super excited to go to sleep tonight. Climbing into fresh sheets has to be one of the best feelings ever, right?

Image

Image

My new bedroom!

I went swimming at the Annaleise Carr Aquatic Centre, named in honour of the aforementioned Miss Carr who swam 52 kilometers from Niagara-on-the-Lake to Toronto (the same route 16-year-old Marilyn Bell took) in August 2012, becoming the youngest person ever to swim that distance, at the age of 13. She seems like a sweet kid from the posters of her hanging up in the pool, and it’s cool how she’s such a hometown hero here. That being said, it’s a little disheartening to pull yourself out of the pool after swimming 2.5 kilometers and feeling pretty good about it, and then being greeted with a huge sign over the changerooms letting you know that a 13-year-old outswam you by 50 kilometers – and in open water too, which is a whole new ball game. 50!!!! How did she do it?!? 2.5 is my absolute max and I only attempt it when I’ve got something really interesting to think about to keep me going, or otherwise I’d die. Anyway, I’m hoping to swim twice a week at the centre, and I really hope to run into the famous Annaleise at some point. I’d love to watch her stroke technique and just gape in awe at her endurance.

Now I’m going to enjoy my first smoothie made in my new Ninja blender (no photo here, because it’s one of those smoothies that make swamp water look more appetizing – ingredients are frozen banana, kale, Vega protein powder, hemp seeds, grated ginger, pureed pumpkin, and a bit of almond milk to get everything going – I swear it’s delicious and very autumnal and pumpkin-spicey for those PSL addicts out there!) and I’m going to FINALLY paint my toenails. I picked up a new colour – For the Twill of It – and can’t wait to finally have pretty toenails again. Although pretty may be an optimistic word choice. Any other runners out there who know what I’m talking about?

Image

Have a great, relaxing Sunday!

Leave a Reply

