Back on the track

Image

I am verrrrrrry slowly getting back into running. On Monday I ran 1 minute, walked 1 minute for 20 minutes and cut it off there. My doctor recommended running on a treadmill but since I don’t have access to one here, I just stuck to the flat residential streets around my neighbourhood.

On Wednesday I had the brilliant idea of biking over to the high school track in the evening, which ended up being deserted save for a surprisingly well-behaved off-leash dog who didn’t chase after me (good, because at the pace I was going, he would have had no problem catching me!).

Soft, flat track…sunshine…bliss. I ran one lap, walked one lap for five intervals, then ran 2 laps consecutively at the end (PAIN FREE!!!). I was so tempted to keep running, but I don’t want to push my luck so I stopped, did some gentle lunges to stretch out the quad and groin, then biked home and loaded up on some protein (tuna mixed with Greek yogurt on pita bread = 42 grams of protein!). I have no idea if eating more protein = strengthening my poor injured muscle, but in my non-sciency brain it makes sense, so I’m going to keep doing it.

The best part about the run last night was that I actually fell back into my normal stride. At first, I was running very, very slowly and barely picking my feet off the ground. It was more of a shuffle than anything, and my feet felt awkward and clumsy and I was overly conscious of how I was running. But by the last two laps, I felt confident and strong enough to lengthen my stride and settle into a more normal, unconscious gait. I have to admit, it felt goooood. At one point I even spread out my arms and tilted my head up to look at the brilliant blue sky and feel the warm sun on my face – I felt like I was flying! I’ve missed running so much!!

Leave a Reply

