Swim workout

The training plan I’ve been following for the ultra called for a 70 min hilly run today, but since I’m tapering before the Harvest Half Marathon this Saturday, I swapped the run for a lower impact 70 min swim instead. I’m going to do an easy run tomorrow and then take Friday off to rest.

I am very much a creature of habit (says the girl who ate a tuna sandwich every day for lunch for all four years of high school) and when I find something that works for me, I tend to stick to it until I eventually get so tired of it I never want to do/see/taste it again. So this past spring when I started doing a specific swim workout that minimized the use of my legs – so I could still get some cardio training in for Boston without aggravating my groin – I continued doing that same workout every time I got in the pool. I’m starting to get tired of it though, and it’s also starting to feel too easy – signs that it’s time to switch things up.

I found the following workout on a half-Ironman training website, and I modified it by adding an extra 500 meters to make it an even 3 kilometers.

I write out my workout and then put the paper in a ziploc bag so it stays waterproof. That way I can keep it next to my flutter board and pull buoy at the edge of the pool!

I write out my workout and then put the paper in a ziploc bag so it stays waterproof. That way I can keep it next to my flutter board and pull buoy at the edge of the pool!

– 400 m warm-up

– 400 pull (freestyle)

– 100 kick (dolphin)

– 16 x 25m free with :10 recovery between intervals (Whoops…I see now I was supposed to sprint 1, swim the next easy, but I couldn’t read that through my fogged-up goggles. I sprinted all of them)

– 4 x 125m with :30 recovery (25 spring, 100 smooth)

– 4 x 75m pull (freestyle)

– 300m swim free

– 250m (10 laps) pull (freestyle)

– 300m swim (100 free, 100 back, 100 breast)

– 50m egg beater to cool down

Total: 120 lengths, 3000m

Followed by five minutes stretching in the water/chatting with the lifeguards and a couple other swimmers.

It was a tough workout! The fact that it was “Warm Water Wednesday” at the pool made it tougher, actually – the water was way too warm. Like, bath water warm. Two of my friends said they both felt a lot slower and more sluggish too because of the warm temps. It’s nice when you wake up at 6 a.m. to know you won’t be jumping into a freezing cold pool, but I’ve got to say I might actually prefer cold water to what it was today…I’m guessing it was at least 85 degrees!

And it’s eight hours since I got out of the pool and the deep goggle indentations etched around my eyes are just starting to fade…hope nobody notices at the press conference I’ve got to rush off to now! I’ll just hide behind the camera and click away – perks of being a reporter!

Leave a Reply

